Llanos, Berasategui Take European Long Distance Titles

Llanos, Berasategui Take European Long Distance Titles

By Brad Culp on 27/06/10 at 4:53 am

Spaniards Virginia Berasategui and Eneko Llanos were victorious on home soil at the 210 ETU Long Distance Triathlon European Championships in Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain on Saturday.

It was the second European Long Distance title in a row for Berasategui, who started the day with a three-minute swim deficit to defending Long Distance world champ Jodie Swallow of Great Britain. The Spaniard was untouchable on the bike, however, covering the 120-kilometre bike course in 3:10:59—over ten minutes faster than Swallow. The Brit put on a surge on the run, but it wasn’t enough to catch the leader, as Berasategui broke the finishing tape in 6:14:46, just over four minutes ahead of Swallow. Italy’s Edith Niederfriniger rounded out the podium, finishing a distant third in 6:41:01.

Llanos is one of only two men to win the XTERRA (off-road) Triathlon World Championship in Maui, Hawaii on three occasions. He also won this year’s inaugural Abu Dhabi International Triathlon.

“This is one of the most important victories of my life,” Berasategui said afterward. “With this fantastic atmosphere, I expect to win the 2012 ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Championship. After hosting this year’s European Championship, Vitoria-Gasteiz, capital of the Spanish Basque Country, will host next year’s Long Distance World Championship.

Tough competition was served up by the Danish team in the men’s race, but in the end no man could match the long distance speed of Spain’s Eneko Llanos, a three-time XTERRA Triathlon World Champion. Denmark’s Martin Jensen and Jimmy Johnsen stayed with Llanos for the 4-kilometre swim and 120-kilometre ride, but the Spanish superstar was too quick once the trio started the 30-kilometre run. Llanos, the 2003 ITU Long Distance Triathlon World Champion, pulled away to finish in 5:35:34, one-and-a-half minutes ahead of Jensen. Johnsen completed the great day for the Danes by rounding out the podium, finishing another two minutes back.

“One of my goals was to be the European or world champion at home,” Llanos said. “Now I am the European champion and next year I will have the opportunity to win a world championship at home.”

Elite Men

1. Eneko Llanos Burguera ESP ES 05:35:34
2. Martin Jensen DEN DK 05:37:00
3. Jimmy Johnsen DEN DK 05:49:19
4. Mikel Elgezabal Fernandez ESP ES 05:53:58
5. Pedro Gomes POR PT 05:56:50
6. Richard Calle Martinez ESP ES 05:57:36
7. Jarmo Hast FIN FI 05:59:22
8. Andrej Vistica CRO HR 06:04:11
9. Karl-Johan Danielsson SWE SE 06:07:59
10. Petr Soukup CZE CZ 06:09:06

Elite Women

1. Virginia Berasategi Luna ESP ES 06:14:46
2. Jodie Swallow GBR GB 06:19:02
3. Edith Niederfriniger ITA IT 06:41:01
4. Eva Ledesma Calvet ESP ES 06:42:33
5. Tiina Boman FIN FI 06:47:14
6. Lisbeth Kristensen DEN DK 06:53:59
7. Valentina Filipetto ITA IT 06:56:26
8. Martina Dogana ITA IT 07:01:41
9. Venla Koivula-Huttunen FIN FI 07:08:47
10. Zeljka Milicic CRO HR 08:06:47

Find more details about this event - 2010 Vitoria-Gasteiz ETU Long Distance Triathlon European Championships