Para Triathlon stars rise in Paralympic rankings in season opener in Devonport

By | 15 Mar, 2024

Stunning conditions welcomed the world’s best para triathletes today, to open the 2024 World Triathlon Para Series on the picturesque coastline of Devonport, Tasmania. 80 para triathletes from 22 countries started their 2024 WTPS season in Australia, vying for crucial ranking points and clinching quota spots for their nations for the upcoming 2024 Paralympic Games in Paris.

The surf conditions were favourable for USA’s Mark Barr, renowned swim specialist, who dominated the men’s PTS2 category to earn the gold medal in a winning time of 01:11:08, leading the race from start to finish. Spain’s Lionel Morales claimed the silver medal with 29 seconds separating Wim De Paepe (BEL) who capped the podium with bronze.

Australia’s rising Para Triathlon star Anu Francis took the tape in the women’s PTS2 category and continued her winning streak in the early stages of 2024, after securing the victory in the recent Oceania Triathlon Para Championships in Stockton. Francis is certainly impressing selectors in her pursuit to qualify for the Paralympic Games this year. USA’a Allysa Seely came across the line in second place to earn silver while Japan’s Yukako Hata claimed bronze today in Devonport.

In the men’s PTS3 category Nico Van Der Burgt, representing the Netherlands, earned WTPS gold in Devonport over his rivals after a tremendous race combination and showing his motivation to secure a spot for the 2024 Paralympic Games in Paris. Great Britain’s Henry Urand earned the silver medal in this category, nearly 2-minutes behind the Dutch champion. Frenchman Michael Herter rounded out the podium with bronze.

Ireland’s Cassia Cava earned the WTPS title in the women’s category in a winning time of 01:23:59.

In the men’s PTS4 category, Michael Taylor (GBR) was crowned champion over Australia’s Jeremy Peacock, who earned the silver medal. Today’s victory marked Taylor’s first gold medal at this level of racing, showing his potential on the runway to Paris 2024. In a title battle for medals, Great Britain’s Finley Jakes came across the line to claim bronze, 30 seconds down on Peacock.

Australia’s Grace Brimelow (PTS4) earned the gold medal In a remarkable debut on the World Triathlon Para Series stage. Brimelow was close to 2 minutes and 30 seconds down coming off the bike but managed to throw down an astonishing run portion of the race to chase down the British para triathlete Megan Richter and claim the victory. Richter clutched silver in Devonport. Frenchwoman Camille Seneclauze completed the WTPS podium with the bronze medal today.

Australia’s Jack Howell showcased impressive form and potential today, proving he’s one to follow on the world stage and one to beat in the men’s PTS5 category. Howell secured gold over Hungary’s Bence Mocsari and fellow countryman David Bryant, who finished up with the bronze medal.

In the men’s PTVI category, it was Frenchman Antoine Perel who was unbeatable in the 2024 WTPS season opener, displaying a strong race combination over the Para Triathlon race distance (750m swim/20km bike/5km run). Great Britain’s Oscar Kelly couldn’t quite catch Perel finishing up with a hard-fought silver medal today while Japan’s Satoru Toneoka claimed bronze, with a strong race until the end.

Germany’s Anja Renner and her guide were the first down the blue carpet in the women’s PTVI class, striking WTPS gold in Devonport. Alison Peasgood (GBR) crossed the line with great emotion, showing she’d given her all today and thrilled with her silver medal performance in Devonport. Ireland’s Judith Maccombe and her guide came storming down the finish line to earn the bronze medal, 14 seconds later.

Italy’s Giovanni Achenza produced the winning combination to earn victory in the men’s PTWC category. The battle for the remaining medals was nail-biting as athletes jostled for positions in the final stage of the race until Frenchman Louis Noel secured silver and Australia’s two-time Paralympian Nic Beveridge was able to close the gap and showcase a powerful run portion of today’s race to earn the bronze medal.

Spain’s Eva María Moral Pedrero (ESP), who recently became a mother for the first time, came over the line nearly 2-minutes ahead of the field to earn glorious gold in Devonport. Mexico’s Brenda Osnaya Alvarez was the second PTWC athlete down the blue carpet and took silver today followed by Great Britain’s Melissa Nicholls 22 seconds later, who was awarded bronze.

The day was stacked with incredible performances from experienced Paralympians, Paralympic hopefuls and emerging talent in the sport, who put it all on the line in today’s race, to earn valuable points and rank, in a crucial qualification window for Paris 2024.

Review the full race results online and playback the races on-demand over on

The World Triathlon Para Series moves to Yokohama, Japan, on the 11th May 2024.
To view the World Triathlon Paralympic Games Qualification Rankings, click here.
To view the 2024 Paris Paralympic Games Nomination Criteria, click here.

Related Event: 2024 World Triathlon Para Series Devonport
15 Mar, 2024 • event pageall results
Results: PTWC Men
1. Giovanni Achenza H1 ITA 01:04:31
2. Louis Noel H2 FRA 01:05:24
3. Nic Beveridge H1 AUS 01:06:03
4. Jumpei Kimura H1 JPN 01:06:11
5. Ahmed Andaloussi H1 FRA 01:07:08
6. Jose Cristobal Ramos Jimenez H1 ESP 01:13:32
7. Eslam Ali H1 EGY 01:20:58
Results: PTS2 Men
1. Mark Barr USA 01:11:08
2. Lionel Morales ESP 01:14:27
3. Wim De Paepe BEL 01:14:56
4. Gianluca Valori ITA 01:17:33
5. Juan Esteban Patiño Giraldo COL 01:18:27
6. Thomas Goodman AUS 01:18:36
7. Glen Jarvis AUS 01:22:59
8. Kenshiro Nakayama JPN 01:32:14
Results: PTS3 Men
1. Nico Van Der Burgt NED 01:11:36
2. Henry Urand GBR 01:13:29
3. Michael Herter FRA 01:17:46
4. Justin Godfrey AUS 01:18:05
5. Daniel Wyss SUI 01:23:15
6. Kini Carrasco ESP 01:24:33
Results: PTS4 Men
1. Michael Taylor GBR 01:05:05
2. Jeremy Peacock AUS 01:06:14
3. Finley Jakes GBR 01:06:44
4. Carson Clough USA 01:07:06
5. Liam Twomey AUS 01:07:50
6. Alejandro Sánchez Palomero ESP 01:07:58
7. Eric McElvenny USA 01:09:08
8. Keiya Kaneko JPN 01:11:42
9. Mhlengi Gwala RSA 01:14:43
10. Kurt Peterson NZL 01:23:24
Results: PTS5 Men
1. Jack Howell AUS 01:00:39
2. Bence Mocsari HUN 01:01:50
3. David Bryant AUS 01:02:11
4. Jairo Ruiz Lopez ESP 01:02:25
5. Antoine Besse FRA 01:04:06
6. Ugurcan Ozer TUR 01:04:38
7. Keiichi Sato JPN 01:07:00
Results: PTVI Men
1. Antoine Perel B1 FRA 01:01:17
2. Oscar Kelly B3 GBR 01:02:32
3. Satoru Yoneoka B1 JPN 01:03:27
4. Sam Harding B3 AUS 01:03:56
5. Jose Luis García Serrano B1 ESP 01:04:31
6. Donnacha Mc Carthy B1 IRL 01:04:42
7. Paul Lloveras B2 FRA 01:05:00
8. Yosuke Yamada B3 JPN 01:07:20